Is your dog licensed? Ours are! It’s Dog License Awareness Month, and Agriculture Secretary George Greig, state dog wardens, and PetSmart are challenging people in Pennsylvania to license their dogs. Their goal is to sell 100,000 licenses in March.
If they reach that goal, PetSmart will donate $10,000 to Susquehanna Service Dogs!
Licensing your dog is easy and helps protect your dog if he or she gets lost. It also just so happens to be a Pennsylvania State Law. According to the law, all dogs ages three months or older must be licensed each year. If you don’t license your dog, you could be fined up to $300 for each unlicensed dog.
The annual dog license costs $8.45 and a lifetime license costs $51.45. However, if your dog is spayed or neutered, that annual fee is only $6.45 and the lifetime license only costs $31.45. There are discounts available for older adults and people with disabilities.
How do you get your dog licensed? Simply visit your county treasurer or another licensing agent, like a retail store or your vet.
For more information, visit www.licenseyourdogPA.com.